Ode to Obama

Blog Challenge – Day 5

As the US presidency has recently changed and Trump officially starts his term, I feel a deep sense of sadness.

Now I don’t want to get too political on this blog, and I’m not a very political person myself, but I don’t see anything wrong with expressing this sadness.

However, a large portion of this sadness comes from the ending of Obama’s term rather than the beginning of Trump’s.

This is because Barack Obama has been my role model for the past 9 years.

My respect for Obama goes beyond his presidency. I respect his character.

I still remember when I first heard him speak. I don’t know when and where it was. I just remember being mesmerized by his voice, eloquence and persona. It had been unlike any other politician I had seen previously in my life. He gave off the vibe that I had only imagined out of leaders like George Washington or Abraham Lincon, whom I had never actually heard.

The sense of hope that was felt for the entire world’s future as he took the office went beyond borders and oceans.

This one line from his inauguration speech touched my heart:
The time has come to set aside childish things…

Before Obama, I had never understood why there couldn’t be a “normal” politician. Why politicians always had to be so lifeless, cold, and distant. Then when I saw Obama I realized that they could be normal.

Here was a person talking in a way people could relate to  and still being able to work right in the center of all the other politicians and lobbyists that crowd the capitol.

I grew up very deeply ingrained in rap music and so the people that I learned from were rappers like Pac and Big. More recently it had been Jay-Z. But these people were very street people that weren’t fully fulfilling my yearning as they lacked positivity aspect I felt was the path to maturity.

However, after Obama I learned how a positive leader could be. He became a new person I could aspire to be like in his character and mannerisms. An actual role model.

I believe this is why he has been the best president I have ever seen. Not because of whether he raised the GDP of his country, or lowered unemployment, etc.

But because he changed the fabric of the characters of today’s youth.

This can’t be measured. It can’t be quantified. But it happened.

He touched many people’s lives and became the face of a role model we all needed.

I’ll end today’s post with another Jay-Z quote that I love.

“Obama represents so much hope for blacks and Latinos. The hope he represents is bigger than any of the huge problems he could possibly correct. When you have positive role models, you can change your life for the better. The day Obama got elected, the gangsta became less relevant.” – Jay-Z

Leave a Reply

